Breaking Ground – Dallas County’s Grand Prairie Sub-Courthouse

On Friday, April 20th, Dallas County broke ground on the new Grand Prairie Sub-Courthouse to be located at 130 West Church Street in Grand Prairie.
The event proved to be a veritable “who’s who” of City and County elected officials.  Included on the guest list were: City of Grand Prairie Mayor Charles England, Mayor Pro Tem Ruthe Jackson, Councilmember Richard Fregoe, Councilmember Mark Hepworth, Councilmember Ron Jensen, Councilmember Greg Giessner, Councilmember Tony Shotwell, Councilmember Jim Swafford, Councilmember Bill Thorn, City Manager Tom Hart, Deputy City Manager Tom Cox, Deputy City Manager Anna Doll, and Planning Director Bill Crolley; and Dallas County Commissioner Elba Garcia, Honorable John Ames (Tax Assessor/Collector), Honorable Roy Williams (Constable), Honorable Norris Rideaux (JP), Honorable John Warren (County Clerk – Truancy Courts), Judge Clay Jenkins, Commissioner Maurine Dickey, Commissioner Mike Cantrell, Commissioner John Wiley Price, and Honorable Kay Huebner (JP).

The Sub-Courthouse is being delivered as a design-build project by Andrade-Harper, LLC of Dallas (a sister-company of GSR Andrade Architects).  It is a 31,500 s.f. facility with two courts – Truancy Court and Justice of the Peace Court, along with support offices and spaces – anchoring the building.  The Tax Office and its auxiliary conference, office, cashier and work areas, accommodates an information center and public service counters.  Other significant program functions in the facility include Juvenile Probation and Constable office areas. With sustainability being important to the long life of the building, the Sub-Courthouse is designed to LEED standards and is anticipated to be an ENERGY STAR facility. On the site, water-efficient and drought-tolerant landscaping similar to the nearby Farmer’s Market is planted throughout, with an interpretive/educational rain garden in the front.

1 Response

Leave a Reply